Monday, January 11, 2010

Public Holidays

There are 9 public holidays in Ireland each year. Public holidays in Ireland (as in other countries) may commemorate a special day or other event, for example, St Patrick's Day (17 March) or Christmas Day (25 December). On a public holiday, sometimes called a bank holiday, most businesses and schools close. Other services, for example, public transport still operate but often with restricted schedules. The list of public holidays in Ireland each year is as follows:

-New Year's Day (1 January)
-St. Patrick's Day (17 March)
-Easter Monday
-First Monday in May, June, August
-Last Monday in October
-Christmas Day (25 December)
-St. Stephen's Day (26 December)

Good Friday is not a public holiday. While some schools and businesses close on that day, you have no automatic entitlement to time off work on that day.

No comments:

Post a Comment